Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded “for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter” on October 4th to:

  • David J. Thouless, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
  • F. Duncan M. Haldane, Princeton University, NJ
  • J. Michael Kosterlit, Brown University, Providence, RI

Some of their work is available for free online right now through World Scientific Publishing Co.:

Two chapters of Topological Quantum Numbers in Nonrelativistic Physics by David J Thouless

One chapter from 40 Years of Berezinskii-Kosterlitz-Thouless Theory edited by Jorge V José

If you’d like to read more about this year’s Nobel Laureates take a look at the webpage for this year’s award.

About Martha

Martha is a Reference & Instruction Librarian and the liaison to the Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Languages and Literatures, Mathematics, and Physics Departments
This entry was posted in around the world and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.