On the eve of releasing his debut mixtape, it is perfect timing to introduce you to the up and coming artist known as Playboi Carti ( Play-boy Car-Tee). Prior to about March or April of 2016, I had never heard of Playboi Carti but around then his name began to spread on the hip-hop/rap sites that I usually frequent. I then began to explore some songs that he had and songs that he featured on. I found plenty of songs that I could vibe to and work into my playlists. Most of the songs that I personally enjoyed consisted of Playboi Carti featuring on songs from some of the other more popular up and coming rappers like Lil Uzi Vert, Kodak Black, 21 Savage, and Rich the Kid. My favorite was the song “Plug” by Rich the Kid but featured Playboi Carti and also Kodak Black. Other ones that I still played weeks after firstdiscovery were “Peepin'” by Gucci Mane featuring CArti and 21 Savage, “Left, Right” by Lil Uzi Vert featuring Carti, and “Too Much Dope” by KEY! featuring Carti. One notable song that I enjoyed where Carti was the main attraction was the song ” This Cash”; you can listen to it and the other four mentioned down below in the Soundcloud players.

Playboi Carti joined up with A.S.A.P. Mob in 2016, linking together with the group that already featured popular artists like A.S.A.P. Rocky, A.S.A.P. Ferg, A.S.A.P. Nast, and A.S.A.P. Bari to name a few. This influence has found him collaborating with these artists more frequently. He featured on the A.S.A.P. group project, Cozy Tapes Vol, 1 on the song “Telephone Calls”. In the past month or two, Playboi has released several singles such as “Broke Boi”, “Lookin'” featuring Lil Uzi Vert, and “wokeuplikethis*” featuring Lil Uzi Vert. “Lookin'” and “wokeuplikethis*” will both appear on Carti’s self-titled debut mixtape, Playboi CArti. While his mixtape will not be available on streaming sites until April 14th, the tracklist is available as of today.

Here it is! A notable feature in A.S.A.P. Rocky on the song “New Choppa”. A song that has me hyped to give the tape a listen.

Playboi Carti’s Playboi Carti Tracklist

1. “Location” (prod. by Harry Fraud)
2. “Magnolia” (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
3. “Lookin” Feat. Lil Uzi Vert
4. “wokeuplikethis*” Feat. Lil Uzi Vert (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
5. “Let It Go” (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
6. “Half & Half”
7. “New Choppa” Feat. A$AP Rocky
8. “Other Shit”
9. “NO. 9″
10. “dothatshit!” (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
11. “Lame Niggaz” (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
12. “Yah Mean” (prod. by Pierre Bourne)
13. “Flex” Feat. Leven Kali
14. “Kelly K” (prod. by Southside)
15. “Had 2″

To get you ready for the mixtape here is a playlist of Carti’s songs and features that I found on Spotify.