Crossman Gallery


This article was written on 06 Jan 2014, and is filled under Past Exhibitions.

The 44th Annual UWW Ceramics Exhibition

The 44th Annual UWW Ceramics Exhibition:

Contemporary Artists Mixing Old and New Technologies

February 27 – March 21

Opening Reception: February 27 from 5-7 pm

This annual exhibit will coincide with the meeting of the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts being held in Milwaukee from March 19-22.  The exhibit is organized with the cooperation of Ceramics Area Professor Jared Janovec.

To date, much research has been conducted relative to the history of humans and the production of ceramic objects. Accounts and evidence of individuals and cultures across the globe who have used clay towards the fabrication of utilitarian ceramic vessels, ritualistic or ceremonial objects, and even shelter, points back to approximately 10,000 years ago. In essence, the bulk of art history provides a dizzying array of how humans have utilized clay towards making impressive objects via what we may now consider to be ancient techniques or technologies.

The organization of this exhibition seeks to expose its audience to ways in which contemporary ceramic artists have infused recent and new technological developments in their creative endeavors and productivity. Advancements in digital 3D imaging and fabrication technologies in the last few decades, especially, have become increasingly available to artists, including those working in the ceramic medium, and are being utilized in wide and varied ways to build or augment their creative process and outputs. From 3D imaging and printing, to CNC milling and digital ceramic decal production, ceramic artists in the 21st century are discovering new and exciting ways to develop and enhance their work and their working methodologies, both singularly and in conjunction with ancient and traditional ceramic technologies and techniques.

The exhibit will feature works by: Ivan Albreht, Tiffany Bailey, Peter Biddulph, Nicholas Bivins, Chad Curtis, Bryan Czibesz, Teri Frame, Nick Geankoplis, Holly Hanessian, Anna Calluori Holcombe, Jeremy Jernegan, Thomas Schmidt, and Malcolm Mobutu Smith.

Comments are closed.

Recent comments