Hurray for the Riff Raff

Everyone has desired to run away from home at one point during their childhood. Alynda Segarra did just that at the age of seventeen. A Bronx native, she hopped on the car of a freight train and rode off into the sunset to start her musical career. Segarra, along with her band, are known as Hurray for the Riff Raff. They are an indie rock group, yet the listener will discover a folk sound deep in their roots along with a hint of Latin flair. Their album, The Navigator, tells the tale of Segarra’s hardships and the pride she possesses for her Porto Rican heritage. The songs are gentle and light, yet, heavy with emotion. Segarra cannot be solely categorized as a musician, she’s just as complex her music. She is a jack of all trades, a songwriter, a storyteller, and a survivor.

– Jon B



Plastic Daggers

A Denver based duo, Plastic Daggers are thunderous, energetic, and one of a kind. Their first album “Shotgun,” incorporates Keaton Kiddler’s fast paced bass and Jordan Palmer’s wild drumming. Their punk rock sound will leave fans of heavier music head banging and begging for more. They have no need for a guitar player, Kiddler’s bass shrieks rebellion and frustration for the modern world. These two men are taking the punk rock scene by storm and will show no mercy!


– Jon B

Alex Izenberg

Alex Izenberg has only released one album so far, however, he has the ability of a musical veteran. Harlequin, is a diverse, emotional, and incredibly unique album as well as a work of art. What word would someone use to describe Izenberg’s voice? Soothing, accompanied by a haunting, yet, diabolically engaging sound. Harlequin incorporates genres, such as folk and psychedelic rock, yet, the album cannot be categorized under one genre. Do not be alarmed when your ears pick up the whistling of a steaming locomotive, it’s simply Izenberg demonstrating his creativity. The future cannot be easily predicted, yet, this young man is on his way to a very bright one.

– Jon B

Top 10 Potential Edge Fest Bands

  1. WhySoWhite: al
  2. Apple Seeds:
  3. TigerNite:
  4. MUSTAS:
  5. Will It Burn:
  6. Lisa Gatewood:
  7. Tyne Darling:
  8. Awktopus:
  9. FMDown:
  10.  Weird Beard:


The Edge shows appreciation towards a local talent this week! Aaron Mustas, professionally known as MUSTAS, shakes up the independent music scene with his 2017 sophomore album The Hollow’s Howls. A Milwaukee native, MUSTAS possess a deep and powerful voice that delivers bursts of raw emotion to the ears of the listeners. Despite being a newer talent, his sound can be described as old fashion blues rock because of his straightforward guitar playing which screams sensitivity no matter what speed strummed and picked. The lyrics of this album tell stories of being unable to obtain the person you cannot have to the simple melancholy of early mornings. The songs he sings are perfect for walking during a bitter winter afternoon or unwinding on the couch after a hard day. MUSTAS’s albums can be found on his bandcamp page and you will be glad you gave him a moment of your time.
– Jon B