About Optimism

Meeting the needs of young people in communities worldwide, Optimist Clubs have been “Bringing Out the Best in Kids” since 1919. Optimist Clubs conduct positive service projects aimed at providing a helping hand to youth.

Club members are best known in their communities for their upbeat attitudes. By believing in young people and empowering them to be the best they can, Optimist volunteers continually make this world a better place in which to live.

There are 87,000 individual members who belong to 2,900 autonomous Clubs. Optimists conduct 65,000 service projects each year, serving six million young people. Optimists also spend $78 million on their communities annually.

Mission, Vision and Purposes of Optimist International
Optimist Clubs strive to accomplish a number of goals while assisting youth within their communities.

About the Club

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater/Community Optimist Club was organized in November 1991 to further promote Optimist International’s focus of being a “Friend of Youth.”

Our club’s slogan is “Connecting Campus and Community.” with this slogan, we believe that by combining the efforts of University staff and members of the Whitewater community, we can maximize our potential to “connect” with area youth and have a positive influence on their development.

We have learned that there is a tremendous need and opportunity to help enhance the quality of life of our youth. And, we know that we have the potential to impact 30 youngsters per club member. So, we ask you to consider our Optimist organization.

We invite you to attend our twice weekly meetings, the first and third Tuesdays at 12:00 Noon on the UW-Whitewater campus, to learn more about Optimism. For more information, please contact Kim Adams, Co-President, at 608-201-2151; or Angie Alesci, Co-President, at 920-723-6700; or Dave Halbach, Immediate Past President, at 262-+472-5749.

2016-17 Club Officers

Kim Adams – Co-President

Angie Alesci – Co-President

Lanora Heim – Vice President

Kate Ksobiech – Co-Treasurer

Ken Ksobiech – Co-Treasurer

Jan Olson – Secretary

Dave Halbach – Immediate Past President

Susan Hixcox – Board Member

Joyce Hutchinson – Board Member

Linda Kinson– Board Member

Vacant – President Elect

Leave a Comment

Your comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.