# **Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity/Diversity Committee**

#### **FUNCTION**

The Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity/Diversity Committee is the campus committee whose members are representative of campus constituencies. Their function is to afford advisory assistance to the Chancellor, Provost and Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Officer to insure that affirmative action and equal opportunity continue to be carried out as fundamental responsibilities of the institution and are carried out appropriately in all aspects of employment and student life.

The Committee will reach out to the campus community by establishing liaisons with campus groups whose focus is the advocacy of individual rights such as Latinos Unidos, Black Students Union, The Women's Center, The Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual Awareness Committee, Disability Advocacy & Awareness Coalition (DAAC), etc. The Committee may be a source of education for the campus as to the nature of civil rights and a forum for these issues to be raised as part of the campus dialogue.

The Committee will initiate and review policy so that policy serves the best interest of equity, and make its recommendations to the Chancellor, Provost and Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Officer. The Committee will be sensitive to the campus climate for equity and diversity; will be educated as to civil rights issues; and the development of such issues nationally and statewide.

The Committee, when called upon, functions as the administrative review body for discrimination complaints investigated by the Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Office. If a party to a discrimination complaint is unsatisfied with the EO Officer's recommendations, the review request must be made within 15 days to the Chair of the Committee. The Chair will coordinate the process to insure compliance with procedures and deadlines. The Committee will address its review to the Chancellor; the Chancellor's decision and recommendations on the matter shall be the final decision. If further review is desired, it can be directed to the appropriate state or federal agency.

### Members

Elizabeth Ogunsola, Co-Chair AA/EEO/Diversity Officer (non-voting)

Diversity Program Manager (Co-Chair)

Paul Adogamhe Faculty Senate

Krista Paul Office of Residence Life

Freda Briscoe Academic Staff

Tracy Chynoweth Academic Staff

Nomsa Gwalla-Ogisi Faculty

Rebecca Rupnow Human Resources & Diversity

Lauren Smith Women's Studies

Ron Buchholz Career & Leadership Development

Whitewater Student Government

Edric Johnson Faculty

**Student Affairs** 

Martha Stephenson Academic Staff Assembly

Tiffany Tardy Academic Support Services

Elizabeth Watson Center for Students with Disabilities

Denise Ehren Union – Classified

Kari Heidenreich Union – Classified

Multicultural Student Council

Multicultural Student Council

Cody Freiberger Residence Hall Association

Student

### **MEMBERSHIP**

## Elected in odd number years for 2-year terms:

- 1 Faculty member elected by Faculty Senate
- 2 Classified employees appointed by Union
- 1 Student Affairs representative appointed by Chancellor
- 1 Faculty/Academic Staff from Women's Studies appointed by Chancellor

# Elected in even number years for 2-year terms:

- 1 Academic Staff member selected by Academic Staff Assembly
- 1 Section 504 Coordinator
- 1 Faculty member appointed by Chancellor
- 1 Academic Staff member appointed by Chancellor
- 1 Faculty/Academic Staff representing Minority Interface appointed by Chancellor
- 1 Equal Opportunity Officer (non-voting)
- 2 Whitewater Student Government Representatives (1-year term)
- (Minority Affairs & Women's Affairs Representatives)
- 1 Residence Hall Association Student Representative (1-year term)